RELEASE
October 01, 1991
LABEL
GRP

Album Review

This is the first domestic volume on CD of Armstrong's swing-era recordings for Decca in chronological order (1934-1936). Joined by the musical, but by then somewhat anonymous, Luis Russell Orchestra, Armstrong's melodic variations turn these pop tunes into fine jazz, even "La Cucaracha."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'm in the Mood for Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-in-the-mood-for-love/id28228?i=28185&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. You Are My Lucky Starhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-are-my-lucky-star/id28228?i=28187&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. La Cucarachahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/la-cucaracha/id28228?i=28189&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Got a Bran' New Suithttp://itunes.apple.com/album/got-a-bran-new-suit/id28228?i=28191&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. I've Got My Fingers Crossedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-got-my-fingers-crossed/id28228?i=28196&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Old Man Mose [Take A]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28198&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Old Man Mose [Take E]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28200&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. I'm Shooting Highhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-shooting-high/id28228?i=28202&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Falling in Love With Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/falling-in-love-with-you/id28228?i=28204&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Red Sails in the Sunsethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/red-sails-in-the-sunset/id28228?i=28206&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. On Treasure Islandhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/on-treasure-island/id28228?i=28208&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Thanks a Millionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thanks-a-million/id28228?i=28210&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Shoe Shine Boyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shoe-shine-boy/id28228?i=28212&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Solitude [Take B]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28214&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Solitude [Take C]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28216&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. I Hope Gabriel Likes My Musichttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-hope-gabriel-likes-my-music/id28228?i=28218&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. The Music Goes 'Round and Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-music-goes-round-around/id28228?i=28220&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Rhythm Saved the Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rhythm-saved-the-world/id28228?i=28222&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Yes! Yes! My! My!http://itunes.apple.com/album/yes-yes-my-my/id28228?i=28224&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. I'm Putting All My Eggs in One Baskethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-putting-all-my-eggs-in/id28228?i=28226&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album