RELEASE
October 01, 1991
LABEL
GRP

Album Review

This is the first domestic volume on CD of Armstrong's swing-era recordings for Decca in chronological order (1934-1936). Joined by the musical, but by then somewhat anonymous, Luis Russell Orchestra, Armstrong's melodic variations turn these pop tunes into fine jazz, even "La Cucaracha."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'm in the Mood for Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-in-the-mood-for-love/id28228?i=28185&uo=5
  2. You Are My Lucky Starhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-are-my-lucky-star/id28228?i=28187&uo=5
  3. La Cucarachahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/la-cucaracha/id28228?i=28189&uo=5
  4. Got a Bran' New Suithttp://itunes.apple.com/album/got-a-bran-new-suit/id28228?i=28191&uo=5
  5. I've Got My Fingers Crossedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-got-my-fingers-crossed/id28228?i=28196&uo=5
  6. Old Man Mose [Take A]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28198&uo=5
  7. Old Man Mose [Take E]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28200&uo=5
  8. I'm Shooting Highhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-shooting-high/id28228?i=28202&uo=5
  9. Falling in Love With Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/falling-in-love-with-you/id28228?i=28204&uo=5
  10. Red Sails in the Sunsethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/red-sails-in-the-sunset/id28228?i=28206&uo=5
  11. On Treasure Islandhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/on-treasure-island/id28228?i=28208&uo=5
  12. Thanks a Millionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thanks-a-million/id28228?i=28210&uo=5
  13. Shoe Shine Boyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shoe-shine-boy/id28228?i=28212&uo=5
  14. Solitude [Take B]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28214&uo=5
  15. Solitude [Take C]http://itunes.apple.com/album/id28228?i=28216&uo=5
  16. I Hope Gabriel Likes My Musichttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-hope-gabriel-likes-my-music/id28228?i=28218&uo=5
  17. The Music Goes 'Round and Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-music-goes-round-around/id28228?i=28220&uo=5
  18. Rhythm Saved the Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rhythm-saved-the-world/id28228?i=28222&uo=5
  19. Yes! Yes! My! My!http://itunes.apple.com/album/yes-yes-my-my/id28228?i=28224&uo=5
  20. I'm Putting All My Eggs in One Baskethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-putting-all-my-eggs-in/id28228?i=28226&uo=5
purchase full album