RELEASE
1992
LABEL
Shimmy Disc

Album Review

What turned out to be Bongwater's last album before the acrimonious end of the personal and professional Magnuson/Kramer partnership was a sellout only in the sense of the slick cover art and presentation, tongues firmly in cheek. Otherwise, the blend of folk, shadowy psych weirdness, and satiric spoken word and lyrical jabs against the state of the world, specifically America, run as rampant as always. Rick was replaced on second guitar by Raymond Hudson, but this made little general difference to Bongwater's overall approach and Kramer's distinct production style. The title track is one of their best, some lovely guitar drones and singing bringing out the weird, gentle melancholy of the song. Magnuson as always has a great time with her inspired monologues. "What's Big in England Now?" has her in sassy Noo Yawk voice talking about everything from pudgy editors at Rolling Stone to Lenny Kravitz talking about mushy peas. "Celebrity Compass" is even sharper, her depiction of a teenager at a Led Zeppelin party wondering, "Which one will take me away to live with him in his castle in England?," at once hilarious and just a little unsettling. Kramer's hero rock guitar in the background makes all the more sense. There are a couple of interesting deviations from the norm: "Free Love Messes Up My Life" keeps the duet singing prominent throughout, but the arrangement and general groove is very '60s/easy listening, some years before the big cult hype for that sound kicked in. "Flop Sweats," meanwhile, transforms Bongwater into a heavy blues/hard rock group, at least up until Magnuson starts talking about a performance artist who has merchandised and licensed her name with frightening efficiency. A lovely cover of Fred Neil's "Everybody's Talking," with additional ruminations from Magnuson, concludes this intriguing album.
Ned Raggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ye Olde Backlashhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-big-sell-out/id156052847?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. The Real Thinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-real-thing/id156052847?i=156052897&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Free Love Messes Up My Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/free-love-messes-up-my-life/id156052847?i=156052906&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. You're Like Me Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-like-me-now/id156052847?i=156052937&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. I Wanna Talk About It Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-wanna-talk-about-it-now/id156052847?i=156052981&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. What's Big in England Now?http://itunes.apple.com/album/whats-big-in-england-now/id156052847?i=156053013&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Schmoozedancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/schmoozedance/id156052847?i=156053027&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Calebrity Compasshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-big-sell-out/id156052847?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. When Johnnie Dieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-johnnie-dies/id156052847?i=156053124&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. The Big Sell-Outhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-big-sell-out/id156052847?i=156053130&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Over the Credit Linehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/over-the-credit-line/id156052847?i=156053163&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Flop Sweatshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/flop-sweats/id156052847?i=156053172&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Holding Handshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/holding-hands/id156052847?i=156053200&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Flute of Shamehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/flute-of-shame/id156052847?i=156053212&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. On the Cusp of 1970http://itunes.apple.com/album/on-the-cusp-of-1970/id156052847?i=156053285&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Her Litigious Naturehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/her-litigious-nature/id156052847?i=156053311&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Love Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-song/id156052847?i=156053337&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Everybody's Talkinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everybodys-talking/id156052847?i=156053359&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album