May 21, 2002

Album Review

Orleans was known mainly for two hits, "Still the One" and "Dance With Me," both contained on this two-fer reissue of Let There Be Music and Waking & Dreaming from Collectables. Similar to other pop/rock outfits of the mid-to-late '70s like Player, Pablo Cruise, and Firefall, many of Orleans' lesser album tracks tended to sound very similar but lacked the hooks of the hits. The biggest drawback to this reissue: too much generic soft rock for the casual listener. For further investigation of Orleans' music without all the filler, Rhino's We're Still Having Fun: The Best of Orleans is the ideal purchase.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Fresh Wind
  2. Dance With Me
  3. Time Passes On
  4. Your Life My Friend
  5. Let There Be Music
  6. Business as Usual
  7. Cold Spell
  8. Ending of a Song
  9. Give One Heart
  10. You've Given Me Something
  11. Reach
  12. What I Need
  13. If I Don't Have You
  14. Waking and Dreaming
  15. Sails
  16. Still the One
  17. The Burn
  18. Golden State
  19. The Path
  20. Spring Fever