September 30, 2003

Album Review

The Best of Bonnie Raitt on Capitol 1989-2003 gathers the biggest and brightest moments of her time at Capitol Records, including definitive hits such as "Thing Called Love," "Nick of Time," "Something to Talk About," and "Love Sneakin' Up on You" as well as newer material like "Time of Our Lives" and "Hear Me Lord" from her 2002 album Silver Lining. The collection is fairly egalitarian, taking a roughly equal amount of tracks from each of her seven albums for the label, including 1995's Road Tested, which is represented by "Love Me Like a Man," "Rock Steady," and "I Believe I'm in Love With You." This approach might be too even-handed for Raitt fans expecting more songs from albums such as Luck of the Draw and Nick of Time, though it does give the album context and a nice chronological flow. Nitpicking aside, as the first collection of her best-known material, The Best of Bonnie Raitt on Capitol 1989-2003, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Thing Called Love
  2. Nick of Time
  3. Nobody's Girl
  4. Something to Talk About
  5. Not the Only One
  6. I Can't Make You Love Me
  7. Love Sneakin' up on You
  8. You
  9. Dimming of the Day
  10. Love Me Like a Man [Live]
  11. Rock Steady [Live]
  12. I Believe I'm in Love With You [Live]
  13. Lover's Will
  14. Spit of Love
  15. I Can't Help You Now
  16. Silver Lining
  17. Time of Our Lives
  18. Hear Me Lord